Help center support eXpress

We've collected answers to popular questions to make eXpress easy and convenient to use. Didn't find the answer to your question? Contact our support team.

Updated 9 Oct 2026

Notifications and Labels: General Information

When Does the App Send Notifications?

The app sends notifications in the following cases:

  • a new message in chats, channels, or from bots;
  • another participant edited or deleted a message;
  • an incoming call;
  • a missed call;
  • an event in a SmartApp.

Enabling and Disabling Notifications for Chats, Tags, or the App

How to enable and disable notifications:

Setting Up Notifications Steps
For chats and channels Open the context menu or the chat/channel properties.
For tagged chats To disable the unread counters, open the app Settings and configure tags.
For the entire app Open Settings > Notifications. For mobile and desktop apps, notifications can also be configured within operating system, and for the web version — via the site settings in a browser.

Additional Questions About Pushes

What Does the Unread Event Counter on the App's Icon Show?

A numeric badge (counter) of unread chats, channels or SmartApp events is displayed on the app icon in the operating system.

When Should Notifications Not Be Received?

Notifications are not delivered while you are active in any of the app sessions. For example, while you are reading messages in the web app on your computer.

Notifications can also be restricted by the settings of the current user status.

Can I Mute Chat Notifications Temporarily?

Yes. Starting from version 3.71, when you mute notifications in a chat or channel, the mobile app asks for how long to mute them: for 2 hours, 8 hours, 12 hours, a week, or forever.

After you select a period, the chat card shows until when notifications are muted: if they will turn on today — only the time; if tomorrow — “tomorrow” and the time; if later — the date and time. When muted forever, the period line is not shown.

When the period expires, notifications turn on automatically. You can turn them on earlier at any time in the same place where you muted them. The setting applies to all your devices. It doesn't work yet in the web and desktop versions.

A Message Was Deleted, but the Unread Counter Didn't Decrease. Why?

This is the expected behavior of the app. It decreases the counter when you read messages and resets it when the chat has been read completely. When another user's message is deleted, the app does not recalculate the counter. Therefore, for some time the counter shows a message that is no longer in the chat.

Open the chat and read the remaining messages — the counter will return to normal.